Book Reviews

Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell


Title:
Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell

About the book:
Cath and her twin sister Wren have always shared everything. They’ve shared room, clothes and an addiction to the book series Simon Snow.  When they start college everything changes.

Wren doesn’t want to share room with Cath because she wants to meet new people and experience life by herself. This leaves Cath heartbroken and sharing room with a stranger who’s “boyfriend” hangs out in their room a little too much. 

We follow Cath when she juggles schoolwork, fanfiction writing, worrying about her father and just trying to make her way in college. 

Date Read: 30/12 2015

My rating: 5/5

 

!!SPOILERS!!

My thoughts:

I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!

I mean, how can you not love this book? I loved the characters, the story, the writing and everything! The only thing I didn’t love was that it had to end.

I fell in love within the first chapter, one of the reasons why was because I could relate to Cath about so much! If you’re a fangirl/boy I think you can too.

The relationship between Cather and Levi is just wonderful. I do admit I was kind of pissed at Levi when he kissed that girl at the party but I wasn’t pissed for that long. I find his cuteness impossible to resist. What I find very fascinating is how different personalities Cath and Levi have and how well they function together.

Another relationship I love is the one between Reagan and Cath. Reagan kind of took Cath under her wing which I find adorable. I think that gave Reagan more depth as a character. The way she accepted Levi and Cath’s relationship made me even more amazed by her.

The last page, the one with Cath’s essay was beautiful. I think it summarize Cath and Wren in a poetic way. I think relationships are kind of like hide and seek, especially with siblings or other family members. Sometimes you need time away from each other (you get bored of seeking if you say so). But eventually you will come out from that hiding place just because you want to. I don’t know if this makes any sense or not but anyways…

!!NO MORE SPOILERS!!

I definitely recommend this book to anyone who’s a fangirl/boy, going through a change or just want an easy read.

 

Please share your own thoughts about this book (if you read it) in the comments. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 

 

One thought on “Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

