Book Reviews

Cinder – Marissa Meyer

Title: Cinder

Author: Marissa Meyer

Series: The Lunar Chronciles

Book synopsis from goodreads: Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Date finished: 5 February 2016

My rating: 4.5/5 

 

 

!!SPOILERS!!

My thoughts: 

Okay, so Cinder. I had high expectations going into this book because of all the hype surrounding this series, the lunar chronicles. The book actually met my expectations. Although I couldn’t give this book 5 stars because I predicted the ending way before it happened.

First let’s talk about the world. Cyborgs?! Androids?! Lunars?! So amazing! Even though it took me awhile to get into the world and understand how it worked, I found the world so fascinating.

I loved that this was a retelling of Cinderella. It’s so far from the original story but it’s still so alike. The evil stepmother, two stepsisters and a ball at the palace.

About that ball. KAI AND CINDER. I am definitely shipping that. Kai are so sweet and the way they act around each other are just adorable. I know that Kai technically threw Cinder in prison but he didn’t really have a choice. I hope I will see more of them in the future!

As I said before, I thought the ending was kind of predictable.In the book there was so much hype about the missing princess Selene and Cinder was in the middle of it, had nightmares of a fire, she’s the right age and she suddenly finds out she’s lunar. I find it pretty obvious that she’s the princess.

But that last page… WHY DID MARISSA MEYER END IT LIKE THAT? I didn’t even know it was the last page so I was incredible shocked when I turned the page and realized there was no next chapter. I need to know what happens next!

With that said I am very, very excited for the next book!

 

What do you think about Cinder?

 

 

6 thoughts on “Cinder – Marissa Meyer

  1. Hi! I loved your review! This is exactly what I thought! I thought the story would keep going on after the last page but then it didn’t and I was HEARTBROKEN :p I loved this retelling, I think cyborgs/lunars are such a fresh and original idea, cudos to Marissa Mayer for this book I love it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

