Book Reviews

Book Review: Carry On – Rainbow Rowell

Title: Carry On

Author: Rainbow Rowell

My Rating: 4.5/5

Goodreads synopsis: Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

!!SPOILERS!!

My thoughts: I went into this book with pretty high expectations because I’ve heard so much good about it and I loved Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. I had very high expectations and I think the book met them but I still felt like something was missing which is why I didn’t give it full 5 stars.

You can’t avoid the fact that this book is very simliar to Harry Potter at some parts, but personally I don’t mind. I do also think it is very hard to make a book about magic, wizards and so on without somehow compare it to Harry Potter. Now, I have not yet read the entire Harry Potter series so I can’t really compare them that much. I do however love both the world of Harry Potter and the world of Mages. I love the idea of wizards living among us and of course the magic schools! I mean, who wouldn’t wanna go to Watford? Especially if you get as good of a roommate as Simon Snow did.

That leads me to to my favorite part, SIMON AND BAZ!

491304fcc12af6e17be099134f49bc20.gif

Simon and Baz are adorable. I don’t know how to describe them. They are now one of my favorites couples and I just love them. I went completely into fangirling mode when I read: “That Simon Snow is alive. And I am hopelessly in love with him”.  I still don’t know how to process this and in the end when Simon was moving in to his new apartment, THEY WERE SO CUTE! I love how they’re always teasing each other and just aaaah. They are so cute!

And on to my favorite character who is (sorry Baz) Ebb. I loved Ebb. She was such a strong person and even though she had so much power she only used it for good things. I am still crushed that Ebb died in the end because she didn’t deserve that. She was supposed to live happily ever after with her goats. SHE WASN’T SUPPOSED TO DIE!!!

16.-Sometimes-you-get-so-engrossed-in-the-story-and-the-character-that-you-cry-when-a-character-dies..gif

Another thing I liked was the mystery of who Lucy was. I think it was so clever that she was Simon’s mother and of course that the Mage was his father. Lucy was a very interesting character and I would have loved to read more about her. The same goes for the Mage. He had a fascinating mind and a unusual way to look at the world. With that said I would have love to see the world of Mages before Simon Snow.

Well, that was my main thoughts about Carry On. I feel like I could go on forever because there are so much to say about this book but I think I’ll stick to what I have written so far. I will probably write more about this book here anyways…

If you feel like it, you’re more than welcome to write a comment with your opinions about Carry On because I would love to see them! 

One thought on “Book Review: Carry On – Rainbow Rowell

  1. Unfortunately, I didn’t like Carry On. I had to force myself through the first book. Then, the second part was a little better, but I really disliked every single character. I had high expectations since I loved Fangirl so much, but sadly I was disappointed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

