Tags & Awards

Around the World in YA tag

fsd.jpgHi! I was recently tagged by Cath at the wonderful blog Trust in the Words. Thank you so much for tagging me!

The rules: Choose a selection of countries, and pick your favourite YA book set in each country.

I think this book tag is awesome! Although I had to think awhile about what books I can pick because most of the YA books I’ve read takes place in either USA or UK. I might have to cheat a little bit by choosing a book or two outside of the genre YA. But this tag has made me want to read more YA books outside of USA and UK.

 

France – Maria Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender

imgres-2   Flag_of_France.svg.png

I absolutely adore this book even though it has ghost in it. This book made me want to visit France so badly.

Germany – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

19063   125px-Flag_of_Germany.svg.png

I am pretty sure you have heard of this book. It’s about a little girl called Liesel living in Germany during world war II. If you haven’t read this book yet you totally should, it’s an amazing book.

Kenya – Love, Life and Elephants; An African love story by Daphne Sheldrick

13166621.jpg  2000px-Flag_of_Kenya.svg.png

This book is not an Young Adult book but since it takes place in Kenya I had to include it. It is actually a biography and the women who wrote this is amazing. I learned a lot about Kenya and of course about Elephants (and other awesome animals in Kenya) which I am very happy about.

Sweden – The Circle by Mats Strandberg and Sara Bergmark

11010899  SWEDEN.gif

Finding a book that is set in Sweden wasn’t so hard for me since I live in Sweden so I have read a bunch of Swedish books. I picked The Circle both because it’s translated in English and because it’s an awesome book. It’s about witches, them controlling elements and more fun stuff.

USA – One Past Midnight by Jessica Shirvington

18594392.jpg  imgres-1.png

There’s a ton of books I could have chosen that takes place in the US but I wanted to pick a book who I don’t think I have mentioned here before. This book is about a girl called Sabine and she lives two lives. Every night, one past midnight, Sabine switch her life. I know it’s sounds weird and it’s really hard to explain but it’s a really good book.

Ireland – Artemis Fowler by Eoin Colfer

249747.jpg  ireland-flag.gif

I read this book awhile ago… I don’t know if the entire book is in Ireland but at least some parts of it is. I remember it was a pretty funny book and involved many different magical creatures.

 

UK – Half Bad by Sally Green

18079804.jpg  imgres-2.png

There was a lot of books to chose from UK too, but I decided to go with Half Bad. It’s a really cool story with witches and what I especially like about this book is that it is kind of hard to tell who are the “good” and who are the “bad”.

So now to the people I tag

Fadwa @ Word Wonders

Jane @ Greenish Bookshelf

 Percy Reads

Thanks for reading this post and I will see you again soon! Have a good day/night (since it’s night for me)!

4 thoughts on “Around the World in YA tag

Leave a Reply

