Book Reviews

I Was Here by Gayle Forman

18879761

Title: I Was Here

Author: Gayle Forman

Pages: 270

Publication: January 27th 2015

My rating:

one starone starone starone starhalf star.jpg

Cody is shocked when she finds out that her best friend Meg has killed herself. She and Meg shared everything, and still Cody never knew Meg was suicidal. Somehow this particular subject never come up and Cody decides that she needs answers. Especially after she visits Meg’s college and discovers some weird things…

My thoughts(spoilers): I really, really liked this book. But as you probably have seen I didn’t give it full five stars and the main reason why was the romance in this book. At first I didn’t like the romance at all. Cody and Ben together felt wrong and I just wasn’t a fan of them as a couple. But I changed my mind during the book, even though I’m still not their biggest fan.

Now more about the characters. I felt like were very well written in this book and I fell more in love with them after every chapter. In the end I loved almost every one, especially Trisha. In the beginning I didn’t like her. I thought she was a bad mother and that Cody would be better of without her. But after Cody and Trisha talked about Meg Trisha evolved to me. A particular quote stood out to me “You had a pile of rocks, and you cleaned them up pretty and made a necklace. Meg got jewels, and she hung herself with them”. After Trisha picked up Cody at the airport she became one of my favorite characters. I know she’s not the best role model or mom in the world but she took responsibility for her faults (or at least some of them) and is there for Cody when it really matters.

The reason why I liked the characters so much was because they felt so real. There weren’t anyone who was all perfect, if you know what I mean by that. They all had their flaws but they also all had their good qualities.

So there’s a quote that sticken with me all this time that I just have to share “It’s like she was my sun, and then my sun went out.”. I just think that’s how it would feel to lose a best friend or someone really, really close to you. I also think that quote describes Meg and Cody so well. They kind of leaned on each other and when Meg disappeared, Cody fell.

The memorial they had in the end was beautiful and I have to admit I cried. The last words were just perfect “I was here”.  It both made the title make sense and it described Meg so perfectly.

 

Now that’s my opinions about the book. What do you think about it?

 

3 thoughts on “I Was Here by Gayle Forman

Leave a Reply

