Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday #3 – Book Theme Songs

118368

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at a goodreads group where you can find here.

June 1st: Book Theme Songs 

Songs you associate with different books, whether it’s because of the lyrics matching the story, the tone fits the story, or just because you listened to it a lot while reading that particular book!

 

Percy Jackson and the last olympian, Rick Riordan – Warriors, Imagine dragons

Percy-Jackson-Last-Olympian-Original-Cover

I listened to this song a lot while reading the final Percy Jackson book and they fit so perfectly together. If you’ve read the book and now listen to the song I think you can see what I mean 🙂

“Here we are, don’t turn away now (don’t turn away)
We are the warriors that built this town.
Here we are, don’t turn away now (don’t turn away)
We are the warriors that built this town.”

 

The fault in our stars, John Green – Not about angels, Birdy

11870085Now I know this song is on the official Tfios soundtrack but I had to have it in this list. Every time I hear this song it reminds me of the book an all of it’s sadness…

“How unfair, it’s just our luck
Found something real that’s out of touch
But if you’d searched the whole wide world
Would you dare to let it go?”

The Circle,  – Teenagers, My Chemical Romance

11010899I listen to My Chemical Romance all the time when I read this trilogy so every time I hear a MCR song I think of these books. I don’t know if this song has much in common with the book but it just reminds me of it.

“They’re gonna clean up your looks
With all the lies in the books
To make a citizen out of you
Because they sleep with a gun
And keep an eye on you, son
So they can watch all the things you do”

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Stephen Chbosky – Asleep, The Smiths

8606706.jpgThis song is mentioned in the book and Ifell completely in love with the song while reading the book. It also kind of remind me of Charlie and his thoughts.

“Sing me to sleep
Sing me to sleep
I don’t want to wake up
On my own anymore”

The Indigo Spell, Richelle Mead – Warrior, Beth Crowley

AwesomeI listen to this song a lot while reading the third book in the series and I thought some of the lines were suited for the couple in the book.

“I ventured carefully
Afraid of what you thought I’d be
But pretty soon I was entangled

You take me by the hand
I question who I am”

What songs and books are on your Top 5 Wednesday today?

Leave a Reply

