Book Reviews

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

23305614.jpg

Title: Finding Audrey

Author: Sophie Kinsella

Pages: 286

Published: June 9th 2015

My Rating:

 one starone starone starone starone star

Goodreads synopsis: An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

 

My thoughts (Spoiler free): I couldn’t put this book down. I started reading this book at midnight and I thought that I could read maybe a chapter or two but I ended up reading about 100 pages without even realizing. After that I had to sleep, however as soon as I woke up I started reading again. I don’t know what was so addictive with this book but it just was.

Sophie Kinsella’s writing style was so easy to read which I think is why I felt like it was so simple to engage in the story. She always made me want to know more. Although this book deals with a tough subject, Kinsella made it be both a light and easy read, and I found myself smiling like an orange segment (if you’ve read the book you’ll get the hint) more than once.

The family in this book is hilarious and the love story was adorable. I loved all the relationships because they seemed so real. They weren’t faked or forced, they were just there and they made the story much more interesting. Just to see how Audrey interacted with all of them was fascinating. 

The one thing that annoyed me a little bit was that I wanted to know more than we got to know. I wanted to know more about everything, but especially about Audrey’s past. So now I totally want a follow up (which probably won’t happen, but you can always wish right?) because I wish to follow Audrey’s journey and find out more about her life.

 

That’s all (or atleast some) of my thoughts about Finding Audrey. Now I want to know yours. Have you read the book or do you want to? If you have, what are your opinions about it?

 

7 thoughts on “Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Leave a Reply

