Book Reviews

We were liars by E. Lockhart

16143347Title: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Pages: 225

My rating:

one starone starone starone starzero star

Goodreads synopsis: A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

My thoughts (SPOILERS!!): From the moment I started reading I just had to know the ending.  It had me intrigued through the entire book and left just enough information as I needed to continue. But I do have to admit that I wasn’t a big fan of the characters. Most of them were spoiled, which I know they were supposed to be(they lived on a private island so daah), but sometimes it got to much and they really annoyed me. I think that was a part of why I didn’t give give it 5 stars. I didn’t really connect with any of the characters, although I still cried for them at the ending. 

But I love Lockharts writing style. Her writing had sort of a mystical feel to it and a lot of sentences had double meanings which I love. She wrote poetic, with metaphors, which I myself often find do when I write stories. An example of Lockhart’s writing “Then he pulled out a handgun and shot me in the chest. I was standing on the lawn and I fell. The bullet hole opened wide and my heart rolled out of my rib cage and down into a flower bed. Blood gushed rhythmically from my open wound,
then from my eyes, my ears, my mouth.
It tasted like salt and failure. The bright red shame of being unloved soaked the grass in front of our house, the bricks of the path, the steps of the porch. My heart spasmed among the peonies like a trout.” I am in love with this part because when I read that I can understand how she feels and it sounds very pretty.

Now to the last part. My head is blown away. Seriously. That ending. I knew there was coming a plot twist but I really did not expect that. But as I think back, I realize all the clues that were there. The liars never once went up to Clairmont, and when Cadence arrived summer seventeen, none of them came to the bridge to greet her. They were never around when someone else was. Although I cried for them, I was also very upset because how STUPID can someone be?! I mean, they lit a house on fire! But they were just kids… ARGH…!! I don’t know how to feel about them…

I had a hard time rating this book because the ending really throw me off and broke me down. I decided to give it four stars, but believe me, I had big trouble with the rating. Anyways, that’s enough rambling for me today. Have you read the book and if you have, what’s your opinions? I really want to know!

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “We were liars by E. Lockhart

  1. I read this book last year and the twist just blew me away! But I couldn’t relate to any of the characters either. I remember that the mother really annoyed me for the bigger part of the book.
    Great review by the way

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

