TBR & Wrap-up

September Wrap-up & October TBR

Hello! September has not been the best reading month for me… I only read 2 books but at least I read something, right? Since I only read two books I am combinding my wrap-up with my October TBR. And in October I am hoping to read A LOT of books. One thing I am very excited about in October is that I am going to England! I think I adore England as much as a person who’s never been there can. Anyways, the travel time to there will probably give me some more time to read and that’s always good. Now lets get into my lists 🙂

September Wrap-up

I’ll give you the sun by Jandy Nelson

20820994

I wanted to love this book so much but sadly I didn’t. I mean, it wasn’t a bad book but it wasn’t living up to my expectations. This book received 3 out of 5 stars from me.

 

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

136251

I finally did it guys! I’ve read the entire Harry Potter series! So proud over myself, haha. This was a brilliant ending to an excellent series. I gave this 5 out of 5 stars.

October TBR

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

13455782

Goodreads synopsis: I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Quiet: The Powers of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain

8520610

Goodreads synopsis: At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking, reading to partying; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who favor working on their own over brainstorming in teams. Although they are often labeled “quiet,” it is to introverts that we owe many of the great contributions to society–from van Gogh’s sunflowers to the invention of the personal computer.

Passionately argued, impressively researched, and filled with indelible stories of real people, Quiet shows how dramatically we undervalue introverts, and how much we lose in doing so. Taking the reader on a journey from Dale Carnegie’s birthplace to Harvard Business School, from a Tony Robbins seminar to an evangelical megachurch, Susan Cain charts the rise of the Extrovert Ideal in the twentieth century and explores its far-reaching effects. She talks to Asian-American students who feel alienated from the brash, backslapping atmosphere of American schools. She questions the dominant values of American business culture, where forced collaboration can stand in the way of innovation, and where the leadership potential of introverts is often overlooked. And she draws on cutting-edge research in psychology and neuroscience to reveal the surprising differences between extroverts and introverts.

Perhaps most inspiring, she introduces us to successful introverts–from a witty, high-octane public speaker who recharges in solitude after his talks, to a record-breaking salesman who quietly taps into the power of questions. Finally, she offers invaluable advice on everything from how to better negotiate differences in introvert-extrovert relationships to how to empower an introverted child to when it makes sense to be a “pretend extrovert.”

This extraordinary book has the power to permanently change how we see introverts and, equally important, how introverts see themselves.

Fem pĂ€rlor till jungfrus krona – Dottern by Maria Gustavsdotter (a Swedish book)

femparlor_ml.jpg

Goodreads synopsis: Vi fÄr följa Gertrauds utveckling frÄn ung flicka till kvinna under en av de mest dramatiska perioderna i svensk historia.

BerÀttelsen inleds Är 1527. I Stockholm har kung Gösta infört svenska sprÄket i kyrkan, lÄtit plocka ned helgonaltare och bestÀmt att klostren ska stÀngas. Gertraud lever med sin familj i lilla Kalmar, en vid den hÀr tiden blomstrande handelsstad.

Hennes förĂ€ldrar har sina rötter i LĂŒbeck, fadern Ă€r en vĂ€lbĂ€rgad handelsman med skepp som för varor som sammet, silke, marsipan, kanel, ingefĂ€ra, guld och pĂ€rlor över haven.

Gertraud fĂ„r lĂ€ra sig sy och brodera och hjĂ€lpa till i hushĂ„llet. Hon och hennes mor gĂ„r ocksĂ„ i Bykyrkan för daglig bön och bikt. Men det vĂ€lordnade livet ska komma att Ă€ndras för Gertraud och familjen …

FEM PÄRLOR TILL JUNGFRUNS KRONA Ă€r en romanserie om kvinnors liv och möjligheter – eller brist pĂ„ möjligheter – att rĂ„da över sina egna liv. Den första delen – Dottern – Ă€r en omskakande och fĂ€ngslande historia om att vĂ€xa till kvinna under strĂ€nga förhĂ„llanden, om att vara utlĂ€mnad Ă„t andras beslut och om att efter bĂ€sta förmĂ„ga vĂ€rja sig mot rĂ€nker och intriger.

The shining by Stephen King

11588

Goodreads synopsis: Danny was only five years old but in the words of old Mr Halloran he was a ‘shiner’, aglow with psychic voltage. When his father became caretaker of the Overlook Hotel his visions grew frighteningly out of control.

As winter closed in and blizzards cut them off, the hotel seemed to develop a life of its own. It was meant to be empty, but who was the lady in Room 217, and who were the masked guests going up and down in the elevator? And why did the hedges shaped like animals seem so alive?

Somewhere, somehow there was an evil force in the hotel – and that too had begun to shine…

That’s all! Hopefully I will be able to read most of these books and perhaps a few more. What books have you read in September and what books will you read in October?

4 thoughts on “September Wrap-up & October TBR

Leave a Reply

