Book Reviews

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

13455782

Title: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Pages: 338

My rating:

one starone star one starzero star zero star

Goodreads synopsis:I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

 

My thoughts: I thought this was a fine read, not the worst but not the best. Firstly I want to talk about Tahereh Mafi’s writing style. It was definitely more to the poetic type and I really admired it. At first I had a little trouble getting into the writing because it was for me a new, unique way to write but the longer I read the more I liked it. I appreciate when she overlined (I have no idea what it’s called but I think you get it) some words because it gave to me a deeper meaning.

Although I liked the writing I wasn’t the biggest fan of the love couple. I mean their love made kind of sense in the end but in the beginning it felt like instant love which is a pet peeve of mine. Maybe another reason why I didn’t get fuzzy feelings about the couple was that I could for the most part not connect with either of them. I understood them but just couldn’t connect with them.

Now am I the only one who thought this books was too fast paced? And I don’t mean where you just fly right through the book because it’s so capturing, I mean there happened too much in too little time. And I still wanted to know more about the world and characters, just having more world building. What I’m saying is basically that I got too little information about EVERYTHING. I wanted more information about the world to make it more interesting for me and more knowledge about Juliette because somehow I couldn’t grasp who she really was.

I don’t know if I had to high expectations or this just wasn’t my cup of tea but I wasn’t the biggest admirer of this book. I mean it was an okay read and I feel like the story has great potential so I might pick up the next book.

Anyways, what do you think about this book? Have you read it or not? Do you think I should pick up the next book?

2 thoughts on “Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

