Book Reviews

The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines #6) – Richelle Mead

This review will include spoilers!!

8709528

 

The title: The Ruby Circle

The author: Richelle Mead

Pages: 348

Goodreads synopsis: THEY WILL BE TESTED

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives.

Their forbidden romance exposed, Sydney and Adrian find themselves facing the wrath of both the Alchemists and the Moroi in this electrifying conclusion to Richelle Mead’s bestselling Bloodlines series.

When the life of someone they both love is put on the line, Sydney risks everything to hunt down a deadly former nemesis. Meanwhile, she and Adrian becomes enmeshed in a puzzle that could hold the key to a shocking secret about spirit magic, a secret that could shake the entire Moroi world and alter their lives forever.

Don’t miss their unforgettable final chapter…

LOVE WILL CONQUER ALL

 

My rating:

one starone starone starone starzero star

 

My thoughts: This is the last book in the bloodlines series, a spin-off to Vampire Academy, and I am not ready for it to be over. Twelve books later and I am still in love with this world. Enough about me not wanting this book series not to end (it will come more of that) and let’s get to the real review.

I thought it was kind of a slow start because it took me awhile to get back into the story  and with Sydney and Adrian stuck at court and not having any clues about Jill’s whereabouts had me frustrated. But when Ms. Terwilliger came to bust Sydney out I pretty soon was back to normal and flipping the pages as fast as I could. I wanted really badly to know where Jill was and where Jill was imprisoned (and imprisoned by) certainly caught me by surprise. I was sure Alicia was dead and that the Warriors of light was out of the picture so that part was shocking to me. Alicia is a mean but smart witch even though she did outsmart Sydney by getting her alone with only Eddie I still wish she would have put up more of a fight. The visit to the Warriors of light also went by pretty smooth but I did love to see more from the inside of their community, to see how twisted they really were. I also have to admit I love that human magic takes such a big role, especially in this book when they are really fighting with magic. But with that said I still kind of feel like these things were a bit rushed because it almost went too good.

Other than finding Jill, what kept my pages turning was the mystery of Olive and Declan. First with finding Olive because it was so strange she didn’t want to talk to Nina or be found. Then that she was pregnant certainly came as a surprise and that it was Neil’s baby was shocking. I felt like her death was both devastating and beautiful. She tried to protect her child to the point where she lost her life. I was incredible tense then to see Neil’s reaction and it was really not what I expected. I thought he would be mad because they hid Declan from him for so long and that he would run away with him or something. But somehow his reaction might have been a bit more noble, a little bit like Olive’s. Neil wanted to give Declan a life he knew he never could have given him and still I had no doubt Neil loved him tremendously. He just loved him enough to let him go.

Although the situation with Declan and that Alicia was back to life was pretty big shocks the thing that shocked me most was that Dimitri and Adrian are cousins. I mean what are the odds? I am still in awe. It was so funny but so surprising. This might feel silly but I have gone from the second book in the Vampire Academy to the last book in Bloodlines to find this out. I kind of wish Mead have secretly put out clues in all the books and I have only missed them.

But now it’s time  to say goodbye to these remarkable characters and this incredibly world (at least for now). I of course hope we will se more from this world but if not I am thankful to have taken a part of it. Not only because it’s a beautiful creation but because Vampire Academy introduced me to fantasy and the young adult genre and I can’t thank enough for that. This will be an ending of an era for me, but one I am pleased to have shared.

 

 

Now I want to hear your thoughts! Have you read this book and in that case what do you think?

 

One thought on “The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines #6) – Richelle Mead

Leave a Reply

