Book Reviews

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

15745753Title: Eleanor & Park

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Pages: 328

Goodreads synopsis: Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

My rating:

 one starone starone starzero star zero star

 

My thoughts (Spoilers!!): I had a hard time to make up my mind about this book. I thought the beginning was a bit slow. It didn’t hold my attention very well because nothing really happened in the first chapters. Although, I did want to know more about Eleanor’s situation but I didn’t get enough clues to keep me super interested. Through half the book I was annoyed by Eleanor and Park too because I felt awkward reading about them. Their relationship evolved very slowly and I wanted to scream at both of them that they liked each other, just to get it over with. However that’s just me, I think I am more “down to business” than they are.

Another thing that bugged me about this book was that the “I love you” came out of nowhere. They had barely talked when Park said I love you and to me that’s kind of big words. I mean they had known each other for awhile but they had barely spoken or hanged out outside of the bus. I know I just said I was more “down to business” still I felt like it would have been more suitable to just say something like “I really like you”. Now that’s just my opinion again.

“Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”

I thought the ending was both good and bad. I think it would have been worse if they stayed together. At least for Eleanor because she needed to sort out her life and I think she’d do that best by herself without worrying about her relationship with Park. I think Park needed some time alone too, even though he wanted to be there for Eleanor (which I totally understand) it was not his problems to solve and he would have gone crazy trying to solve them. Though I do think they should have gotten more time together and they should have gotten a better goodbye. But that’s life sometimes I guess. You won’t have enough time and goodbye’s might not always be what we imagined, which was the beauty of this ending.

“I just can’t believe that life would give us to each other,’ he said, ‘and then take it back.’

‘I can,’ she said. ‘Life’s a bastard.”

I did really like that we got to see them move on with their life’s though. I also really loved the absolute ending with Eleanor’s letter and the three words written down in it. It made the ending hopeful and in my head Eleanor and Park are together now. Anyways, to finish this review I want to say that I liked this book but I did not love it. Nevertheless I would definitely recommend this if you want a cute highschool romance.

 

 

Eleanor&PArkfullon.jpg

Now I want to know your thoughts, what do you think about the book?

Leave a Reply

